Here I am …, but why?

Posted: August 26, 2011 in My Life
Tags: ,

“Here I am…., On the road again.  Here I am…., up on the stage”.

You may recognize a few of the words from the Bob Seger song, “Turn the Page”.  This is what came to mind when I sat down to put keyboard to blog today.  Go check out the lyrics on that link, it could almost have been a song about blogging. 

It has been a while since I posted a blog entry, and I keep hearing Mandy Thompson tell (nag?  Encourage?) me to just stop and write, so here I go.  I thought I would just dive in and try to explain why I even want to blog my personal thoughts, since the words I blog seem to come from a place I do not readily connect to at a conscious level. Okay – that sounds strange, even to me.  What I mean by that is that I seem to have around 4 or so actual different levels of thought:

  • Public – These are the thoughts I have that I communicate verbally.  They are wayyy too guarded.  Think about it – you do this too, hide your real thoughts.
  • Private – Only for my own consumption.  Sorry – you would freak out if I shared those with you.  #tmi
  • God stuff – I know he hears all the thoughts, but sometimes I have specific conversations (thoughts because they are not always verbal), where I think differently and more honestly than I even do internally to myself.  And yeah – he talks back to me.  I hope that freaks all you atheists out.
  • Blogging – I try and mix all the above up into a written form that I want to share.  Why?  For one thing, I want to get your input, but it doesn’t matter if I do or not – just better if I do.  Secondly, I want to help you elicit a little honest thinking as I try and be relationally real at an appropriate level.  So if it makes you think a little bit…., Yayyy.

What comes out in my blogging category is a real hodgepodge of what is in my head, so can be wildly different from day to day.  But in some strange way it all comes together in a reasonable manner – or at least to me it does, your results may vary there.  It just serves a real clarifying purpose for me, as I try and organize my thinking.

So there – that’s why I am here, on the stage.  Weird, or does it make some sense to you?

del.icio.us Tags: ,

Leave a comment