Faith for change

Posted: September 29, 2010 in God's word, Lessons learned, Spiritual Thoughts

So I was at my small group meeting one night listening to Drew Thompson pontificate (with great enthusiasm and skill) upon the amazing story of the book of Mark, when I was caught off guard with my own thoughts.  Yes, that happens to me occasionally, please pray for me, it’s a bit scary at times. 

But I digress.  As we listened to Drew describe Jesus’ actions as told in one of his pericopes (hehe – look it up), it occurred to me that change we see as so difficult, is not even a challenge to Jesus.  For example, consider this excerpt from Mark:

 Mark 1:40-42: A man with leprosy came to him and begged him on his knees, "If you are willing, you can make me clean. Filled with compassion, Jesus reached out his hand and touched the man. "I am willing," he said. "Be clean!" Immediately the leprosy left him and he was cured.

Okay.  I get it.  So Jesus saw a man with leprosy, and he reached out to touch him and he was cured, clean and healthy. Big deal right?  Of course it’s a big deal!!  I mean it is Jesus, so this was no biggie for him of course, but what if you tried it?  Not happening, right?  Leprosy was like the most feared disease you could get in those days. You became an outcast, you could not find work, or food, or see your family or friends since they were forbidden to touch you. So not only would you not be able to cure and clean him, you couldn’t even touch him. But the man in question actually believed Jesus could cure him. Once he demonstrated that and showed his faith, he was cured —- and changed forever.

You get where I am going?  There are so many things we cannot do or control in our own ability, but we have a secret don’t we?  Faith.  One of our best kept Christian secrets (unfortunately).  Just as people around the leper gave up, we do this every day don’t we?  We look at a situation and decide it is just impossible, and is in fact so not possible we will not even try.  All because we do not demonstrate our faith.  

Hardhead. Yep — I am talking to you (yes – and me too). If you really truly want something to change, then focus on your faith.  Faith can connect you to the impossible. If you do not understand faith, come ask me.  I’d love to explain it to you.

Don’t believe me?  Ask the leper.  Then maybe you can look for a positive change you need to make, have some faith, and Jesus will reach out — and make you whole.  Having faith can create incredibly long lasting change.

Try it. Then let me know what happens.  I love a good change story!    

del.icio.us Tags: ,,,
Leave a Reply

