“Declare your change to the right One”

Posted: September 22, 2010 in God's word, Lessons learned, Spiritual Thoughts
Tags: ,

We do not often ask for change.  A lot of the time when we refer to change we see it as a negative thing, but occasionally we hear ourselves say, “I need a change.”  When I see something in my life I want to change, I try and ask God to help me change it.  I find that when I do that I feel more like God is on my side as I work through whatever efforts are required to make the change happen.  Having God on your side is always a good thing, but it can also increase your own personal accountability.  Accountability is something I always need when doing a difficult task, it seems to make me more aware of the need and hesitant to do wrong or not do right when I need to.  Asking God to help has a way of talking you out of bad change as well.
 
For example,  I made a decision a few months ago to lose some weight.  I got on a scale one day and said, “I GOTTA change.”  So I sat down and God and I talked about it for a bit (to some that would be called a prayer, but most of my talks with God are more chatty in style).  WE (as opposed to just I) decided that I needed to do what it took to lose a few.  So I declared to God that I was going to do it, and He promised to help.  Yep – I made a promise to God, and He promised He would help me with it.  It was at that point that my accountability began to grow.  I became very interested in fulfilling my promise, because I knew He would hold up His end!

Now don’t get me wrong, it was not fun sometimes.  But making a promise to God, AFTER I had asked Him to change me on some way just felt more real, and there really, really is not a way you can fool God, right?  Wow.  That’s accountability.  But guess what?  He did his part very well.  Every time I started to quit, I heard that whispered voice say, “You can do this, and I will help you. Remember our little talk?”

I know – you guys think I am weird, but it was very, very real to me.  Not only was I determined not to disappoint, I felt strongly supported.  God also used my wife and daughter, and some friends and family members to be encouraging and help me on my way.  He supplied what I needed to fulfill my promise.  I did end up losing the weight.  I am proud of my efforts, and honestly can say I grew closer to God in the process.  We call that a win-win!

Psalm 37:5 (NIV): Commit your way to the LORD;  trust in him and he will do this”

Do you want or need to make a change?  Sit down and talk to God about it.  Not only will the accountability help, but the help He can provide is far beyond your own abilities!

Go change something!

 

del.icio.us Tags: ,
Leave a Reply

