"Rest!"

Posted: June 30, 2010 in God's word, Lessons learned, Spiritual Thoughts

Simple subject today, and one that will help you a lot if you will follow directions. Consider the following verses:

Matthew 11:28-30
"Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light."

Hebrews 4:9-11
There remains, then, a Sabbath-rest for the people of God; for anyone who enters God’s rest also rests from his own work, just as God did from his. Let us, therefore, make every effort to enter that rest, so that no one will fall by following their example of disobedience.

What do these verses say to you?  God does indeed insist that we rest, but it takes effort to do so.  We rest for many reasons, involving physical, emotional and mental need; but we know for a fact that God insists that we do it.  Stop and think about it.  When do you actually rest?  Do you do it out of exhaustion just before collapse or as a regular maintenance thing?  Do you ever do it for pleasure?  When you rest, do you just rest from one thing and shift the effort to another, or do you truly put aside everything and just "be"?  Just "not going to work" is not rest.  I came up with several definitions for the word "rest"

1. Cessation of work, exertion, or activity.
2. Peace, ease, or refreshment resulting from sleep or the cessation of an activity.
3. Sleep or quiet relaxation.
4. The repose of death: eternal rest.
5. Relief or freedom from disquiet or disturbance.
6. Mental or emotional tranquility.
7. Termination or absence of motion

Seems to me that the general theme here is that rest should result in peace.  God offers that to us through faith, prayer, and quiet meditation.  God rested.  Jesus rested.  You need to rest.  So make a plan.  One that you can follow and that mirrors what God and Jesus modeled for us.

Have a restful, peaceful week.

del.icio.us Tags: ,,,,
Comments
  1. Ironically, I’m on house-arrest at home, after Drew has consigned me to a day of NO WORK because I’ve gotten more and more sick this week.
    dangit. So much stuff to do this week, and yet I’m here on my couch.
    And ironic that I should read this post in the midst of all that!

Leave a Reply

