What a difference

Posted: June 23, 2010 in God's word, Lessons learned, Spiritual Thoughts

I got a new TV yesterday.  The picture is so clear it is incredible.  It also has 3D capability built right in.  I love it.  When I look at it I practically swoon (some of you get that feeling, some of you don’t).  For some reason, my wife Sandra doesn’t share quite the same "vision" (excuse the pun) for the TV that I do.  I look at it and I swoon, she looks at it and just imagines all the traveling we could have done with the money I spent on the TV.  When she looks at a travel magazine, she practically swoons.  I enjoy traveling a lot, but not at the same level of my much world travelled wife.  She has climbed Mt. Kilimanjaro, trekked in Nepal, backpacked through Central America, been on safari in Africa, done earthquake response in India, and I could go on and on. Suffice it to say she has a nomadic spirit and has covered the globe.  I on the other hand have installed computer networks all over the world in Africa, South America, etc., engineered complete multi-city networks, and solved many a technical electronic problem in my time, all leveraging my love for gadgetry.

Vive la difference.  God made us all to be just as we are, and he made many, many varieties.  Sometimes those varieties can conflict.  Sometimes those varieties get married.  Sometimes they have to work together, or go to church together.  Why in the world would God create all these situations where those so different would have to be so close?  I believe it is to perfect each other.  That does not mean that we ram our way or belief down the other’s throat, it means that we learn to give and to take, and to see things from other’s perspectives at times.  Giving in is not always giving up.  And getting your way does not always feel like a victory does it?  Funny how that works, we all are different, and have different gifts, but God can use them all.  Here is how it is stated in I Corinthians:

I Corinthians 12:4-6 (NIV)
There are different kinds of gifts, but the same Spirit. There are different kinds of service, but the same Lord. There are different kinds of working, but the same God works all of them in all men.

I’d invite you to go do a quick read through the entire chapter of I Corinthians 12.  You’ll get a great perspective on how wonderful different can be.   And to my wife: Thank you, Sandra, for allowing me to be me, and spend all that money on a new TV!  I think she sees the happiness it will bring US, by allowing me to be ME.

Have a great week.  Go enjoy someone being different than you!

del.icio.us Tags: ,,
Leave a Reply

