"Smooth Sailing (for all)"

Posted: March 11, 2010 in God's word, My Life, Spiritual Thoughts
Tags:

We meet all kinds of people each day. Each of those people leave a mark on us as they pass by, be it positive or negative. The same person can give you negative one day and positive the next. To put this into an analogy, I see the mark people make being a bit like the wind blowing my life about. The words we say and receive are powerful winds. I can be cruising (sailing) along quickly on a good day, run into a negative person and have my nice forward progress interrupted as my sails empty from bad words. Before I know it, my sails have collapsed and two things happen. One, I lose that nice sailing along feeling. And two, I can now be easily blown into a bad direction, because my forward momentum has dropped. On the other hand, if I run into a positive person with positive words, it can either fill my sails further and speed me up, or help me to change my stalled state and get under way again in a positive direction. Once headed that way, it is hard to slow me down!image

Now put the shoe on the other foot. What direction is your wind blowing others? Do you ever run into someone who is in a good mood and you bring them down? Whassup with that? How do we allow ourselves to do this and how does it make us feel? Have you ever been able to blow a positive wind in someone’s sails? Pretty awesome isn’t it? This is what friends do for each other, they blow positive wind. Two people blowing bad wind is a train wreck (okay, I switched analogies but you get it). I love this verse in 1 Peter:

1 Peter 3:10-12: For, "Whoever would love life and see good days must keep his tongue from evil and his lips from deceitful speech. He must turn from evil and do good; he must seek peace and pursue it. For the eyes of the Lord are on the righteous and his ears are attentive to their prayer, but the face of the Lord is against those who do evil.

Looks like God is in the positive wind business. Okay — so for today’s "Action Steps" (oh man, I am talking like Jay now…), here is what you do:

1. Always remember that you are a positive or negative wind

2. Identify your sailing speed each day, and be conscious of it to protect your momentum

3. Carefully see where the wind is blowing as you meet each person so you can guard your momentum

4. Deflect bad wind and blow some good wind in the deliverer’s direction

5. Celebrate the good wind you find, and add yours to it!

We can indeed control the wind around us, with God’s help. If you are having a bad day, or a bad week for that matter, ask God to blow you some good wind. My guess is he will first offer you some calm, and then give you a nice cool breeze to move you forward. He’s that kind of God.

Happy sailing.

 

Technorati Tags:
Leave a Reply

