Time away, and how to use it …

Posted: July 19, 2008 in My Life, Spiritual Thoughts

I am on vacation for the next week.  This particular vacation has a different feel to it in that I am feeling pretty free to really enjoy it.  My life for over 6 years has been filled with a constant feeling of responsibility for things in my professional life.  My recent change from working for myself to working a “regular” job has been a very welcome change.  Instead of constantly worrying about a business, client needs, etc., I now have been blessed with a chance to have a true vacation from work, and focus on me and what God has for me next.  So what does that mean to me?  I am going away to a vacation that has lots of free time to spend with family, friends, golf and relaxation.  I have realized that those are not enough for me right now.  I believe that I can do a better job in all those areas if I focus on time with God first.  My pastor Jay has told me of many occasions where he has vacationed, but each day started with a special “away” time with God.  I want to focus on that.  I want to start each and every day with a more focused time spent alone early in the day, simply being.  Being with God, being in the Word and seeing how that guides my thinking, my day, and my walk.  I really do not have a big plan, other than to journal my thoughts.  My only plan thus far is to be alone in the a.m., and be still and listen.  Such a simple plan, but I am waiting expectantly.  I believe that taking that posture has great possibilities.  Submitting my heart to God with no agenda, no specific asks other than asking Him to speak to me.  I am going to do that as much as I can.  I am also going to pick up the phone and call my friend Rob, with whom I have had such a great spiritual connection with in the past, but somehow seem to have lost.  I want to speak with my parents with time to talk.  I want to hear my wife’s heart in conversation with her.  I am going to pick up the phone and call Jay, just to hear what words he has for me.  I am just going to enjoy my family, celebrate what God has done for me in blessing me with family,  friends, and whatever comes to mind.  I am going to ask God what he wants me to do next.

Then I am going to lay out a plan for myself, based upon what words I get from God, friends and family.  Maybe it seems strange to you, but to me it feels like what God wants me to do with my time away.

I am looking forward to it, but mostly I am looking forward to what God will tell me.  Pray for my clarity — PLEASE.

Comments
  1. jay hanson says:

    Listen to God
    and do whatever He says!!

    You are asking the right questions and you are looking int the right places.

Leave a Reply

