Sustaining the warmth of the moment

Posted: April 28, 2008 in Spiritual Thoughts

Click to view clipartThis is not a blog post with answers.  It is one with questions.  Help me with your thoughts please.

I struggle at times.  I struggle to stay near God, and the warmth of his fire and his presence.

As I move through each day, I have my moments when I talk to God, moments when I listen to God, and then there are those moments when I cry out for God.  Regardless of which of those it is, I stay warm when in those moments, because I am near to God.  Then I am ashamed to admit that I have those moments when I am not thinking about God at all.  I know why — it is because I am walking away from His fire, and I lose the “moment”.

When I am away from God, I feel cold.  I feel alone, frustrated, and easily defeated.  When I am with Him, I feel warm and empowered.  Yesterday in church we were singing “How great is our God”, and it felt so warm.  Then when I was on my way home, I was playing the Casting Crowns song, “Between the altar and the door”.  The song talks about how we lose our follow through between the promise we make to God at the altar, and the door when we leave the church.  That is when we walk away from the fire.

Stay with me here a minute.  The warmth comes from being next to God’s fire and the incredible warmth we get from being there.  But when we walk away from the altar and the fire (and into the world), we lose that warmth.  I believe it is because we step out of the moment (where God is), and begin to depend on ourselves.  Consider this verse:

Psalm 46:10
“Be still, and know that I am God;
       I will be exalted among the nations,
       I will be exalted in the earth.

Staying in the moment means staying close to the fire.  It is easy to leave the moment (and God) behind, and step out of that warmth.  When I shift my thoughts to the next thing, I start depending on my own ability.  That always leads to trouble.  When I step out of the warmth, I step towards sin and things not of God.

So how do we take the moment (the altar, the fire) with us?  How do we move forward through our day and not leave God behind.  How do we “Be still”, yet keep our life moving?

What are your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

