My friend Tito…

Posted: April 22, 2008 in My Life

I just got back from a mission trip with my church to Honduras, but that is not what this post is about.  When I got back, I had an email from an old friend.  It was a very nice surprise.

Tito was a guy I worked with at MAP International probably at least 10-12 years ago.  Tito and I had this passionate and fiery relationship that I describe as one of my best working relationships ever.  Half the time we laughed and had fun, half of the time we argued voraciously.  Regardless of which it was that day, we walked out of the room passionate about our relationship and with a healthy ability to keep “duking it out”.  The passion we both brought to the table on the projects we worked on was pretty intense.  We did not always agree, but we did agree to disagree pretty well.  As I look back on my now 25 or so year working career, I have had a couple of these relationships, and they are the ones I enjoy the most, mostly because they seemed to stay pretty honest.  If I felt Tito was being an idiot, I told him so and vice versa.  I am ashamed to admit there was one time (okay, may two) that he was probably right.  We had the passion of youth, but lacked the maturity of experience.  But the bottom line was, we respected each others passion, committment and ability to get the job done.

In the last couple of days, Tito and I have had a great exchange of updating info, and it is very nice to see that we have both matured and see things in a different light.  It would be interesting to see how our working relationship would be different considering the life experiences we now posess.  I would be surprised to see that Tito had lost passion, but if he is like me, the things we are passionate about are vastly different than they were years ago.

I am thankful for relationships God has given me in my life, and Tito definitely counts as one of those.  Thanks Tito, for reaching out to me again.  I am sure you are still idotic about a few things, but my ideas could have a few flaws in them still myself…  🙂

Comments
  1. Tito says:

    WHAT? ME? IDI0TIC????????

    Well, probably…

    Nice blog entry, Dennis.

    It seems that before I may have been passionate about being right. (At least it seems I was right at least two times! Not bad.) These days I am becoming passionate about dying.

    God has shown me I get to choose: If HE is going to be Supreme Lord, then I have to stop being right and stop running my life in my own particular ways. If HE is NOT going to be supreme… well, I have seen that there is no future in that direction.

    So, I’m passionately stuck with trying to diminish so that He can increase in my life.

    Kind of hard to do when one is so full of himself; the more capable one is the harder it seems to give up control and dominion and opinion and talents and just die, so that He might live.

    So, I’m kind of stuck.. passionate about dying but desperate to live…now, at least, im disagreeing with myself :-X

    Now, don’t go disagreeing with me or else I might have to get disagreeable….

    Nice to catch up again Dennis! God bless you in all you do! Now… I’m going to have to read the rest of your blog :-0

  2. Dennis Rice says:

    I disagree Tito, just because it has been so long! 🙂 Just kidding.

    Looking forward to reading some of your writing (now where did I put that big red pen???).

Leave a Reply

