How did I get here?

Posted: October 7, 2007 in Uncategorized

I have stopped trying to figure out where I will be in 5 years.  Or 4 years, or 1 year for that matter.  If there is any one thing that we need to keep in mind as we try and control the direction of our lives, it is how powerless we really are to control what totally happens to us.

 Now I don’t mean that we cannot affect our direction.  We can decide to go to college, or move to Africa, etc.  But those macro destinations are not where we really live each day.  Where we live each day is in the moment, right now, this second.  Did you know that this is where God is?  IN THE MOMENT.  I have no idea what motivated me to sit down here and do this blog post, it just kinda happened.  I did not make an appointment to blog.  It occurred via a series of events that I really did not control.  I won’t go into how it happenned, but it did just occur to me that this was not in my plan for the day, so why am I doing it?

 What does this show me?  It shows me that God is wise.  God DID know I was going to be in a blogging mood, and he knew what I was going to say.  He formed the path around me to give me what he wanted me to say.  “Are you sure Dennis?”, you may ask.  Yep.  I’m sure.  How am I so sure?  Because I know he is there, I know he is speaking to me, I know he has a reason for me to post this, but in all honesty, I do not know what that reason is!

There is a strange peace in that.  Just doing what I hear God telling me to do instead of stressing out about what to do.  Be still, listen to God, and just do it.  Can it really be that simple?

What do you think?  Is anyone listening?  Do you hear God speaking and obey?  I certainly do not do it all the time like I would like to, but when I do…….., I like it.

Leave a comment