Do do, do, and more do! Where is the “Be”?

Posted: September 26, 2007 in Spiritual Thoughts
Tags: , ,

There is way too much doing going on, and way too little “being”.  My wife and I were in Cancun last week on vacation, and were doing a really awesome job of just “being”.  We sat on the beach, took a few walks, napped a little, and really just enjoyed “being” with each other.  I talked to God a lot, and it was a calming and really enjoyable experience.

 Then we came back home and had to slide right back into the “doing” mode.  What a bummer.  Now don’t get me wrong, I am not a lazy person by nature.  I am however really tired of having to go, go, go, and do, do do all the time.  So many times God gave us great example of when he was pleased with people just “being” with Him.  Moses on the mountain, Elijah in the desert and on Mount Horeb, John the Baptist in the wilderness, Jesus in Gethsemane. It’s hard for us now.  We need to fight the urge to sign up for one more task, class, activity or trip.  We need to just plan to “Be”.  I get this picture in my head of maybe 40 or 50 years ago when whole families used to sit on the fron porch and just be together.  Sigh…, where did that go?  I really am trying to adjust my life to less “do’s”, and more chances to just “be”.  Pray for me that I am successful.

How about you?  Do you take time to just “Be”?  Leave me a comment, and I will pray the same for you!

Comments
  1. Jay Hanson says:

    I seem to have tons of “doing” going on, but am finding a way to enjoy “being” in the middle of the activity. Not sleeping much so a lot of my “being” is “being awake” but I think the reflection time is helping me find balance in the middle of the business.

Leave a Reply

