A stranger in a strange land …

Posted: September 7, 2007 in Spiritual Thoughts

“Since you call on a Father who judges each man’s work impartially, live your lives as strangers here in reverent fear.” (1 Peter 1:17 NIV)

I have never wanted to feel like I was “different” than those around me.  You know what I mean, it is the whole peer pressure thing that has become such an issue in society today.  It is so tough growing up as a teenager today, the peer pressure is incredible, and that process continues into life later on as we seek to be like others or please everyone around us. “Be like Mike”, was a catch phrase a few years ago.  Why in the world would I want to be like Michael Jordan?  Money?  Prestige?  What is it that makes that attractive to people?

God wants us to be like Him.  Now there is a role model for you.  Jesus.  Just saying the name invokes awe in some, and fear in others.  Those fearful still see the awesomeness of the name and what it represents.  Jesus was a stranger.  He was misunderstood, mistreated, shunned by many.  So why then does history place such an emphasis on his name?  HE’S GOD — that’s why.  Just accept it, you don’t have to understand it.

God is way too big to understand, He is way too awesome to comprehend.  Understanding God is not a destination, it is a journey.  Walking through life is a daily time limited experience that will only ever scratch the surface of understanding no matter how much study, service, etc. we do.  It is a training period for eternity.  In our desire to understand God, we can get absolutely paralyzed by the expanse of the task.  How do we ever feel we will completely understand Him while on this earth?  Stop looking for a complete understanding and enjoy and experience the awesomeness of who he is not just every day, not just every hour or minute, but every moment.

God is that huge thunderstorm, earthquake or awesome event.  God is also that small voice in your head that tells you what to do if you learn to listen.  It is strange — I know.  It is a concept misunderstood and shunned by many.  Who cares?  It is real, and I do not have to explain it, I just get to enjoy it.

I have been way too wrapped up in making people understand me.  I think it relates to the peer pressure thing to a point, that desire to be accepted and not be looked at as strange.  God understands me, that’s is all that matters.  In the eyes of people around me, I do strange things every day.  Hehe.  Me and God are having fun with that.

I know, I am strange.  Thank God, I am getting stranger every day.

Technorati Tags: ,
Comments
  1. Jay Hanson says:

    Conformity. The desire to fit it, to belong. IT is one of the strongest motivators there is. It drives us to do the previously unthinkable and it fuels us to accomplish the unimaginable. It is built into our DNA. We just have to decide to whom we want to conform.
    Thanks for blogging. I enjoy the peak into your head.

Leave a Reply

