What am I “Meant to Be”?

Posted: April 23, 2007 in Uncategorized

Had a great day at church yesterday.  During one of the songs, I seemed to focus in on the phrase, “What I was meant to be”.  Need to reflect on that a bit.

There is a big difference in what I want to be and what I am meant to be, isn’t there?  I mean, I want to be a professional baseball player, but it apparently is not meant to be.  I want to be a millionare not worried about money, but alas, it must not be in the plan.

 Or is it?  How do we figure this out?  How do we reconcile the “meant”, to the “want”?  I know that God has desires for my life, but in looking it up in the Bible, I do not see “meant” used anywhere in that context.  What I see is that it is used to correct people’s misinterpretation or confusion.  That says it well for me, I am confused there.

Was I meant to be a father, a husband?  I think so because God has blessed me in that realm, although both cases have had their struggles.  What ministry am I meant to be in?

The only answer I can come up with, is that I am meant to love God.  The rest happens as a result of that effort.  If I truly desire him and love him with all my heart, things should be clearer, but today they are pretty cloudy.  Guess that is an answer in itself.

 I need to focus on Loving and following God, that is all I am “meant” to do.  I’ll figure the rest out after I get there.

Any other perspectives out there?

Comments
  1. Jay Hanson says:

    In my case, Clarity often produces confidence and clouds (lack of clarity) often drive me to God. I agree with you that I might be “meant” to follow God and the fact that everything else seems cloudy might mean that God is helping me be who I was “meant” to be.

  2. Melina says:

    very interesting. i’m adding in RSS Reader

Leave a Reply

