On waiting ….

Posted: December 13, 2006 in My Life

Jay asked in his blog what people were thinking as a result of what he has been teaching at The Chapel about waiting.  I posted this comment in response to his post, but wanted to post it here in my blog also…

I never really thought that much about waiting until this series Jay, but I have definitely realized how many different aspects there are to it. Thinking on this has led me all kinds of places, which I will briefly share with you in a rambling sort of way.

I have certainly done my share of waiting in my life, but never really thought of it in any way except negatively. The world today is into total instant gratification, and I am right there with it. Waiting is not a popular thing. When I want something, I want it now, and I hate to hear someone tell me to be patient. Did I ever have patience? Not sure but I do not feel I have much right now. I spend so much time wanting things to happen that when they finally do, they go by so fast. We hurry up the pace of everything to the point that we never really even get to stop and enjoy what is happening in the now. If we can wait with patience, we have a lot more time to focus on today.

How many times in my life have I looked BACK with nostalgia at some event? Many. How many times have I looked FORWARD into the future with anticipation of some event? Many. What about THIS moment? What about the NOW? Sometimes I really just miss it, because I am looking forward or looking back, which is sad, because it really robs the enjoyment of today. God is doing things with me (and others) right now, right this second, and if I do not stop and notice it I will totally miss it, and easily fly right by an opportunity he gives me. Sometimes things are also happening in other peoples lives that I need to take more time to notice and help them celebrate, grieve, laugh, or cry about. God gives us all these experiences, and we should pay attention to each one. Everything is moving so fast around me, and I want and need to slow down and enjoy simple pleasures. Here is an example of a really, really special moment when I stopped the world and just waited:

I walked outside last night and was in a hurry on my way to do something, when I noticed a sound. It was a small sound, but it rang clear in my head. It was really weird to me until I stopped and listened closely and realized what it was. The leaves were falling in the woods behind my house. That was it — no great crashing noise or event, just the leaves. It was almost like a clock ticking in my head as I heard each small beat of a leaf hitting the ground. I stood there for like 5 minutes and could hear almost nothing else while I allowed God to control the pace of my heart, and my thoughts in a spiritual kind of tempo. To that beat I started counting the people in my life that I am thankful for, that I struggle with, that I am concerned for, etc., etc. Funny thing was, I did not think about work, or money, or any of those things, only people. It was a great moment with God. If I had not stopped, listened and waited on God to lead my thoughts, I would have missed it, and that would have been very sad. How many of these opportunities have I missed?

Well Jay, I am quite sure that nopne of this I just articulated entered your head at all as you prepared these lessons for us, but you asked what was in my head, and you got it! Thanks for your part every day in trying to lead me closer to God. Sometimes it gets through! Keep prying on my spirit, God is honoring it.

Leave a Reply

