Ding, ding goes the bell!

Posted: December 3, 2006 in Uncategorized

Ever hear a bell when in church?  I don’t mean the normal ring me with a long rope kinda bell, I mean the one in your head that goes off when something hits home.  Mine was ringing in church this morning.

Our pastor Jay spoke (taught, whaever he does) about how to “Wait well”.  He used the analogy of seeing our waiting for God to move in our lives like a waiter waits on a table.  A waiter is poised and ready to act when he sees a diner have a need or make a request of him.  A good one is very attentive and responsive to whatever the diner asks.  We should be that way with God.  How would you feel if a waiter was in your face all the time, instead of waiting patiently in the wings and answering your requests?

Jay and I have had a couple of conversations about why God does not do this or do that in our lives, and how impatient I am .  Well, maybe he will, in his time.  In the meantime, I have to learn to be a “waiter”, observe what God is teaching me, and trust his timing.  Don’t know about you, but that is hard for me.  I guess this is one of those growth opportunities again huh, Jay?

I also met Jay’s friend “Hoolie” (sp?) this week.  He’s a trip.  Nice to know the man who rings Jay’s bell too!  🙂  Seems like a guy I’d like to get to know as well.

Well, better go do some “waiting practice”!

Comments
  1. Pro Se says:

    I like how you worded that waiting on God. I’ve never thought of it like that before, that is, waiting on Him in anticipation of what He wants. I’m like you. I’m impatient, and apparently I’m missing what God wants to teach me, which is obviously to wait for His timing.

    I’ve asked God to do something…anything. Even to the point where I was ready to make something happen, just for something to be happening.

    Whenever I ask Him what will happen, how will it end, what is He going to do..He only says “wait and see”

    What’s kind of funny is I don’t have a clue who you people are. I don’t even know if I’ll ever be back to your blogs, but I asked God tonight to show me something…anything, and of all the millions of blogs out there, He sends me to a string of people who are having coversations and linking to each other’s blogs about…WAITING!!!!!

    ARGGGGGGGGG

    I guess His answer is still “wait and see”

  2. Useful site, where did you come up with the information in this summary? I’m pleased I found it though, ill be checking back soon to see what other articles you have.

Leave a Reply

