Scared of God? Nope, just fearful and content ..

Posted: August 26, 2006 in Uncategorized

Proverbs 19:23:
The fear of the LORD leads to life:
       Then one rests content, untouched by trouble.

I meet once a week or so with a group of people we call the “Dream Team”.  We help our pastor and another pastor brainstorm and apply relevant themes to their Sunday messages.  The other day we got into a discussion about “The fear of the Lord”.  I am still struggling with it a bit, but it means to me that this fear is not a “scared” feeling, it is more of an awe thing, an admiration.  I came across the above verse today, and it was a good note for me.

That fear can produce contentment.  My admiration and awe of God, gives me great peace and contentment.  Why?  My God is HUGE.  He is POWERFUL.  He is able to overcome anything, and he is my friend and Lord.  Everything I worry about is so miniscule to Him, that it is laughable.  Laugh in the face of peril, that’s what I want to do, trusting that God is always by my side.  There should be contentment in that every hour of every day.

Content?  Yes, I am.  I still have wants, needs, issues, etc. in my life, but when God gives me verses like this I know in spite of all that is happening around me, he is offerring me contentment.  I’m gonna try and accept it more often…

Help me wih the “fear of the Lord” thing.  What does that mean to you?  I do not want to think that God wants us to be “scared” of him.  What do you think?

Comments
  1. bakerbill says:

    I also have dreams I would rather do without and no,God has not talked directly to me in a dream. If anything the are coded and would need to be interpreted as many dreams in scripture as in the book of daniel.
    Most of my dreams include people and places from my past. some times intregrated into people and places of my present life. I asume that many times they are warnings of where my life could be headed.
    Interestingly though I have been always able to wake up and go back to sleep changing the dream to fit my current faith based thought proses. I can always make things right in my dreams. I do not know how it came to be that way ,but in that respect I like my fog

Leave a Reply

