Pondering Worship, and “How to Worship Jesus Christ” ….

Posted: April 26, 2006 in Uncategorized

Jay Hanson and I had lunch yesterday, and the topic of worship came up. We were asking ourselves, “What is the difference between Corporate worship (like the typical church service) and personal worship?” My first response to Jay was that there are different, more expressive and elaborate means of worship when we worship corporately (bands, videos, etc.) which do not make sense on an individual basis. I guess that makes some sense, but I left that conversation still feeling like the question was left somewhat unanswered. I’ll continue to ponder that one. We spent most of the time talking about corporate worship, but my main thoughts right now are about the personal side, and what true worship really is to me as an individual. It’s a good thing to challenge yourself on, because all your spiritual being revolves around that.

Jay gave me a book to read, “How to Worship Jesus Christ”, by Joseph Carroll. I read about half of it last night, so fell asleep pondering worship, which felt like……., worship. Cool. One of the things mentioned in this book is that an inconsistent devotional life will produce an inconsistent spirit of worship. I like that — it make sense. When I look back at my life, I realize that I have been pretty inconsistent and unintentional about my devotions and worship (kinda like my personal blogging). That has made my life and attitudes inconsistent. People who are consistent just seem to experience less ups and downs in general attitude and spirit. It takes INTENTIONAL devotion, to produce CONSISTENT worship.

Intentional, consistent devotions can produce a continual spirit of worship.

That’s not real deep, it’s common sense. You are what you think about, what you worship. It is about maintaining a constant stream of communication with God. God speaks to those who fall at his feet in worship. More on that later in another blog post, I need to focus on that one more myself.

It also talks about prostrating yourself, and casting down your crowns. I’m pondering that also, but need to look at my crowns, and my general “posture” when I worship. Am I bowing down when I worship? Have I cast down my crowns, or am I hanging on to a few? I can’t achieve true worship if I sit at the same level as Jesus, and I am not honoring Him if I am also wearing crowns. Ouch. Got me there, on both counts.

Oh, and we have to let go of our intellect when we worship and serve God. Double ouch (yeah Jay, I know, I know). I WAY over analyze everything, which I am ashamed to admit shows a lack of faith.

I’m enjoying this little book, in spite of all the “ouches” (or maybe because of them). It is one worth reading through more than once. I’ll try and blog more as I read it.

Comments
  1. Jay Hanson says:

    Interesting connection between falling prostrate and falling asleep worshiping God. Maybe we can worship in our sleep.

  2. Sherry says:

    Thanks for keeping us connected through our Stephen Ministry.

  3. Idetrorce says:

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  4. Dennis Rice says:

    What exactly do you disagree with? 🙂

  5. Alice says:

    Hi, I was looking for a recommendation for this book when I stumbled onto this blog. I was good with it until the last when you said ‘we have to let go of our intellect when we worship and serve God’. What do you mean by that? I would think that an ever-deepening knowledge of our Lord and His sacrifice would make our worship even more humble, filled with gratitude and awe, intense and sweeter. To leave one’s intellect behind would steer the worshiper into more me-focused, experience-driven, and theologically weak song-singing. Hope I have misunderstood your quote.

  6. Nigel Malka says:

    Throw the book away- well don’t take it too seriously – Worship for the individual is about having a personal relationship with God through his Son Jesus and is best enabled within your own heart by God’s Own Holy Spirit. In other words do what you feel will please God – Not what other have found right for them – you can’t come to God through others so why try to worship like others – be yourself – honour him, praise him 24-7.
    Two examples – one someone says what are you doing this weekend first answer is I’m going to church to have a special meeting with my friends to collectively worship The One and Only true God! Now that’s worship – second find some quite corner of the universe and read the bible, sing to him a favourite song which suits your mood, talk to him as master and friend about what you feel and let your mind accept thoughts from him that will ONLY encourage you to be closer to him. Just do it whenever you can and when the thought is in the mind. Never, Never worry about how you worship as we have been told to cast all our worry on God! Just Worship

Leave a Reply

